Railway Minister’s Awards for SCR Personnel & Medal For for RPF Inspector

Railway Minister’s Awards for SCR Personnel

Indian Railways will be celebrating the 57th Railway week from 10th to 16th April, 2012 in commemoration of the first train run o­n Indian soil.The Central Function of the Railway Week will be held o­n 16th April, 2012 in New Delhi, during which the coveted Railway Minister’s 57th Railway Week Awards will be presented. 17 Officers/Staff of South Central Railway have been selected for the prestigious 57th Railway Week Awards in recognition of their exemplary performance during the year which  include fourteen individual Awardees and 3 Awardees for Disposal of Scrap Disposal. Amongst the Individual Awardees, are 5 Gazetted Officers, 7 Group ‘C’ staff and 2 Group ‘D’ Staff. 
The following is the list of Officers and Staff who are the recipients of the 57th Railway Week ‘Minister of Railway Award-2012’.

Gazetted Officers (Five)

1.Shri G.V.Mallikarjuna Rao - Senior Divisional Electrical Engineer, Electric Loco Shed, Lallaguda, Secunderabad.
2.Shri S.Vishnuvardhana Rao - Deputy Chief Engineer/Construction, Kadapa
3.Shri T.S.Manavalan-Divisional Operations Manager, Guntakal Division
4.Shri S.Sudhakar -Divisional Security Commissioner, Railway Protection Force, Hyderabad Division
5.Shri Bhukiya Bal Singh- Private Secretary, Divisional Railway Manager’s Office, Secunderabad Division

Group ‘C’ Staff (Seven)
6.Shri P.Srinivasulu Reddy - Chief Vigilance Inspector (Engineering), Senior Deputy General Manager’s Office, Secunderabad 
7.Shri Salan Sanga – Senior Section Officer, Senior Divisional Finance Manager’s Office, Secunderabad Division
8.Shri Zakir Hussain - Loco Pilot (Mail & Express), Kazipet, Secunderabad Division
9.Shri P.Veera Bhadra Rao - Section Engineer, Bhadrachalam, Secunderabad Division
10.Shri N.Nagaraju -Tech-I, Diesel Loco Shed, Gooty, Guntakal Division
11.Shri M.Odhelu- Station Manager, Kazipet, Secunderabad Division
12.Shri K.V.S.R.K.Ravi Varma - Senior Section Engineer, Telecommunication, Guntur Railway Station, Guntur Division

Group ‘D’ Staff (Two)
13.Shri Mallaiah Iylaiah – Senior Trackman, Senior Section Engineer’s Office/Permanent Way, Lingampalli, Secunderabad Division
14.Shri G. Pydi Raju- Assistant Pointsman, Anakapalle, Vijayawada Division.Award for Scrap Disposal (Three)
15.Shri D.Seran Senguttuvan– Senior Divisional Material Manager, Vijayawada Division.
16.Shri K.R.V.Ramana- Senior Material Manager, Scrap Depot, Guntupalli, Vijayawada Division
17.Shri Vijender Bahadur- Office Superintendent, Controller of Stores, Secunderabad Division

Railway Ministers Medal for RPF Inspector

Shri. N.Ashwini Kumar, Inspector/RPF, Internal Vigilance Group of Headquarters, Secunderabad,South Central Railway, has been awarded with Railway Minister’s Medal for second best investigation for the year 2011. The brief facts of the case are as follows.

Shri.N.Ashwini Kumar while working as Inspector/RPF/Nampally Station o­n 24/06/2010 received a theft report of missing of 262 cell phones valued Rs.6,00,000/- booked in Luggage Van of Dakshin Express. After registering the case he promptly took up the enquiries. He obtained IME numbers of stolen cell phones from the consignee and tried to trace out the stolen cell phones. With the help of Department of Telecomm, Hyderabad, he approached various service providers like Airtel, Aircell, Idea and Police Surveillance Units at Agra, Hyderabad etc.and he could gather valuable information about the location of the stolen cell phones at various places of Central and Northern India like Lucknow, Kanpur, Delhi, Jhansi and also at Hyderabad and successfully arrested two notorious criminals and 9 Railway employees and recovered 53 cell phones. The Security Directorate, Railway Board had also nominated a joint team to work out o­n the case, in which criminals were spread over more than three zonal Railways.

The above said case is unique of its kind. The criminals committed the offence by breaking the Luggage Van of the train enroute to Secunderabad from Delhi and alighted between Jhansi and Bhopal and further disposed the property at different places. Since it was difficult to trace out the criminals by using traditional investigation techniques, the RPF Inspector intelligently utilized the latest available technology to detect the crime and located the criminals with the help of Department of Telecomm and various service providers of cell phones.

In recognition of his services Shri. Ashwini Kumar is awarded national level Railway Minister’s medal for second best investigation.

Best viewed at 800×600 resolution with Internet Explorer 4.0 or Netscape Navigator 5.0 and higher.